Fifa World Cup - Russia 2018

Here’s how much #WorldCup teams will make

France defeated Croatia in the 2018 FIFA World Cup. This means Les Bleus will take home $38 million in prize money, and Croatia will take home $28 million in prize money.

In 2017, the FIFA Council announced that the organisation’s total contributions to fund the 2018 World Cup would be a whopping $791 million — a 40 percent increase from the previous tournament in 2014. Of this total, $400 million will be used exclusively as prize money for participating teams — a 12 percent increase.

This increase in funding means that France is set to win more prize money than ever before in World Cup history.

World Cup Prize

The prize money is given to each country’s national FIFA federation. These organizations determine how the winnings will be distributed and how much each individual player will receive.

The World Cup trophy is estimated to be worth $20 million. While the winners don’t get to keep the trophy indefinitely, the fame and publicity associated with winning the World Cup can lead to corporate sponsorships, advertising deals and hefty contracts.

Here’s how the prize money breaks down:

17th-32nd place: $8 million

Ninth-16th place: $12 million

Fifth-Eighth place: $16 million

Of course, France and Croatia are not the only teams who will be taking cash home from the World Cup. All teams that advanced to the group stage receive a minimum of $8 million in prize money, as well as $1.5 million to “cover preparation costs.”

Fourth place: $22 million

Third place: $24 million

Second place: $28 million

First place: $38 million

Source – CNBC


FT France 4 – 2 Croatia: France win World Cup #WorldCup

Nandi Madida’s sweet message to Lerato Kganyago

Hawks claims they have caught cash-in-transit heists mastermind

Back to top button